Crypto Custodians
Looking for Crypto Custody Technology? See Crypto Custody Technology.
12 of 25 custodians hold at least one register-verified license (checked 2026-09-10)
Digital asset custody providers that hold client assets and key material on the client's behalf: trust companies, banks, broker-dealers and licensed VASPs. A product is listed here when the provider, not the client, holds the keys. Whether it holds a license, and where, is a fact on each record, never assumed by the category.
Methodology: how this page is built and verified.
25 digital asset providers compete in this crypto custodians market.
Compare the facts.
No matching products. Try another product or company name.
| Product | Company | Custodian type | Qualified custodian | Key control model | Key type | Policy controls | Networks | API access | SOC 2 Type 2 report | ISO 27001 certified | Licenses verified | Also in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anchorage Digital | not disclosed | not disclosed | Provider-controlled * | HSM * | Approval quorums, Amount and time limits, Smart contract allow-list, Address allow-list * | not disclosed | Yes | Yes | not disclosed | 3 | ||
| Aplo | not disclosed | not disclosed | Provider-controlled * | HSM, MPC, Multi-sig | Approval quorums, Address allow-list, Amount and time limits, Smart contract allow-list * | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Other layer 1s, Layer 2s * | Yes | not disclosed | not disclosed | 1 | OTC Desks Prime Brokers | |
| Archax | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 0 | OTC Desks | |
| BEQUANT | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 0 | Crypto Lenders OTC Desks Prime Brokers | |
| BitGo | not disclosed | not disclosed | Provider-controlled * | HSM, MPC, Multi-sig | Approval quorums, Amount and time limits, Address allow-list * | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Other layer 1s, Layer 2s | Yes | Yes | not disclosed | 6 | ||
| Cactus Custody | not disclosed | not disclosed | Provider-controlled * | HSM, Multi-sig | Approval quorums, Address allow-list, Amount and time limits, Smart contract allow-list * | not disclosed | Yes | Yes | Yes | 1 | ||
| Cobo | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Yes | Yes | 0 | Crypto Custody Technology Off-Exchange Settlement | |
| Coinbase | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | MPC * | not disclosed | not disclosed | Yes | Yes * | not disclosed | 2 | ||
| Copper | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Yes | not disclosed | 0 | Crypto Custody Technology Crypto Lenders | |
| Crypto.com | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | MPC | not disclosed | not disclosed | Yes | Yes | not disclosed | 6 | ||
| FV Bank | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | MPC | not disclosed | not disclosed | Yes | Yes | not disclosed | 0 | ||
| Fidelity Digital Assets | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 0 | Crypto Lenders OTC Desks | |
| Hex Trust | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | HSM * | Address allow-list | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Other layer 1s, Layer 2s | Yes | Yes | not disclosed | 3 | ||
| Komainu | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | HSM, MPC | Approval quorums, Address allow-list * | Ethereum, Solana, Other layer 1s | not disclosed | Yes | not disclosed | 0 | ||
| Liminal | not disclosed | not disclosed | Shared keys * | HSM, MPC, Multi-sig | Approval quorums, Amount and time limits, Address allow-list * | Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, Other layer 1s, Layer 2s | Yes | Yes | not disclosed | 0 | ||
| Matrixport | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 1 | Crypto Lenders Prime Brokers | |
| NYDIG | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Bitcoin | not disclosed | Yes | not disclosed | 1 | Crypto Lenders OTC Desks | |
| Paxos | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 0 | ||
| Prometheum | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | HSM, Multi-sig * | Approval quorums, Amount and time limits, Address allow-list * | Ethereum | Yes | Yes * | not disclosed | 0 | ||
| StoneX | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 5 | OTC Desks Prime Brokers | |
| Sygnum Bank | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 0 | ||
| Tungsten | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | HSM, Multi-sig | Address allow-list | not disclosed | On request * | Yes * | Yes | 1 | ||
| XBTO | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | 0 | OTC Desks Tokenization Platforms | |
| Zodia Custody | not disclosed | not disclosed | Provider-controlled * | HSM, MPC | Approval quorums, Amount and time limits, Address allow-list * | not disclosed | Yes | not disclosed | Yes | 2 | ||
| sFOX | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed | Multi-sig | not disclosed | not disclosed | Yes | not disclosed | not disclosed | 0 | OTC Desks Prime Brokers |
Compact view · Select “Show full text” to expand longer values. Scroll across the table to see every field. Select a product for its sources and full profile.
* provider-stated, not yet verified
Reading this table
Custodian type
The kind of licensed entity that holds the assets.
- Trust company
- A state- or nationally chartered trust company acting as fiduciary.
- Bank
- A licensed bank.
- Broker-dealer
- A securities broker-dealer registered to custody digital asset securities.
- Licensed VASP
- A virtual asset service provider licensed to hold client assets, outside the bank and trust models.
- Other
- A licensed entity of another kind; the note says which.
Qualified custodian
Whether the custodian meets the US SEC's definition of a qualified custodian under the Advisers Act custody rule.
Asset segregation
Whether each client's assets sit in their own wallets or are pooled with other clients.
- Segregated
- Each client's assets sit in wallets used only for that client.
- Omnibus
- Client assets are pooled in shared wallets and tracked in the custodian's books.
- Both offered
- The client can choose segregated or omnibus.
Bankruptcy remote
Whether client assets are held so that the custodian's creditors cannot reach them if the custodian fails.
Key control model
Who holds the key shares. A product can offer more than one model.
- Provider-controlled
- The provider holds every key or key share. The client cannot move funds without the provider.
- The provider and the client each hold key shares, and both must approve. Some providers put a third party in the provider's seat.
- Client-controlled
- The client holds every key or key share. The provider can never move funds.
Key type
How the private keys are stored and used to sign. A product can use more than one.
- HSM
- Hardware security module: a locked device that generates, stores and signs with the key, so the key never leaves it.
- MPC
- Multi-party computation: the key is split into shares on different machines that sign together without ever joining the key.
- Multi-sig
- The blockchain itself requires several separate keys to approve one transaction.
- Shamir secret sharing
- One key split into parts, any few of which rebuild it. A backup scheme, not a signing scheme.
Signing policy
How many of the key holders must approve a transaction, for example 2 of 3.
Policy controls
The kinds of rules a client can set on transactions. A product can offer more than one.
- Address allow-list
- Approved addresses or tokens only, with no approval quorums. Called basic in the DigOpp comparison chart.
- Approval quorums
- Flexible admin quorums plus allow-lists. Called core in the DigOpp chart.
- Amount and time limits
- Limits by amount or time window; above them, extra approval or a delay applies. Called threshold-based in the DigOpp chart.
- Smart contract allow-list
- Approved smart contracts and functions a wallet may call. Called contract-level in the DigOpp chart.
Key recovery
Who can rebuild the keys if the provider or the client loses them, and the named recovery partner if any.
Networks
Which families of blockchain the product supports, computed from the full network list where we have one.
- Bitcoin
- The Bitcoin network.
- Ethereum
- Ethereum mainnet.
- Solana
- The Solana network.
- Other layer 1s
- Other base-layer blockchains such as Avalanche, Polkadot, Cardano or XRP Ledger.
- Layer 2s
- Networks that settle onto Ethereum, such as Arbitrum, Optimism and Base.
Supported networks
Every blockchain the provider lists as supported on its own site on the checked date. Networks only, never tokens.
DeFi access
Whether a client can use decentralised finance protocols from custody.
Exchange integrations
Exchanges the product connects to directly, as named by the provider.
Off-exchange settlement
Whether a client can trade on an exchange while the assets stay in custody.
API access
Whether clients can connect their own systems through an API.
- Yes
- Clients can connect through an API.
- On request
- Clients can ask for API access; it is not offered by default.
- No
- No client API.
Staking offered
Whether the product lets clients stake assets from custody.
Insurance type
The kinds of insurance the provider says it carries. Types only; whether a limit applies to one client is in the policy, not here.
- Crime
- Covers theft by employees or outsiders, including hacks of the provider's systems.
- Specie
- Covers loss or damage of keys held in cold storage, the way vault contents are insured.
- Cyber
- Covers losses from cyber attacks and data breaches.
- Errors and omissions
- Covers losses from the provider's mistakes in providing its service.
- Directors and officers
- Covers claims against the company's directors and officers. Not a client protection.
Restricted jurisdictions
Countries the provider says it will not serve.
Pricing basis
What the provider charges on.
- Assets under custody
- A yearly percentage of the value held.
- Transaction volume
- A fee on what moves in or out.
- Assets and volume
- Both a percentage of value held and a fee on movement.
- Flat fee
- A fixed monthly or yearly price.
- Custom
- No published rate; priced per client.
List price
The entry price as the provider publishes it, for example 24 bps per year or from $800 per year. Never a low, medium or high tier.
Pricing page
The provider's public pricing page.
Pricing tiers
Every public tier the provider lists, one per line: tier, price, what it includes. Enterprise tiers without a price are listed as custom.
Headcount
Number of employees the company states.
Funding raised (USD)
Total outside funding the company states it has raised, in US dollars.
Regulator of record
The regulator the company names as its main supervisor.
SOC 2 Type 2 report
An independent auditor tested the company's security controls over a period of months. The audit firm and the period are in the note.
SOC 2 Type 1 report
An independent auditor checked the company's security controls at one point in time. Weaker than Type 2.
SOC 1 Type 2 report
An independent auditor tested the controls behind the company's financial reporting over a period of months.
SOC 1 Type 1 report
An independent auditor checked the controls behind the company's financial reporting at one point in time.
ISO 27001 certified
The company holds an ISO/IEC 27001 information security certificate. Certificate number, certification body and expiry are in the note; verified means we found it on a public certificate register.
Annual penetration test
An outside firm tries to break into the company's systems at least once a year. The firm is in the note when named.
CCSS level
CryptoCurrency Security Standard level the company was audited to. Level 3 is the highest.
- Level 1
- Basic CCSS controls audited.
- Level 2
- Stronger CCSS controls audited, including key redundancy.
- Level 3
- The highest CCSS level: full controls, tested, with formal policies.
Cryptographic audit
An independent review of the signing scheme itself, not the company's processes. Firm and year in the note.
About this category
Digital asset custody providers that hold client assets and key material on the client's behalf: trust companies, banks, broker-dealers and licensed VASPs. A product is listed here when the provider, not the client, holds the keys. Whether it holds a license, and where, is a fact on each record, never assumed by the category.
No longer operating
- Etana Custody: Involuntarily liquidated by the Colorado Banking Board on 2025-11-06